Underage Drinking Attorney
in Oakland County, Michigan
We Handle Underage Drinking Cases in Michigan
High school and college students and other young people under 21 years of age often perceive underage drinking as no big deal. To them, peer approval may make it seem acceptable to indulge at weekend or evening social gatherings. However, a seemingly innocent evening can suddenly turn into a nightmare for minors arrested after drinking or in possession of alcohol, especially if they are driving.
For more than 17 years, Daniel Larin has exclusively practiced criminal law, specializing in the defense of alcohol-related offenses. He understands the serious criminal ramifications of underage drinking and is prepared to defend individuals who face alcohol-related criminal charges.
Get Steadfast Legal SupportReach Out to Us
Minor in Possession (MIP)
In Michigan, the legal drinking age is 21 years. With limited exceptions, it is a misdemeanor criminal offense for anyone under the age of 21 to purchase, possess, or consume any alcoholic beverage. Persons under the age of 21 and their parents should not underestimate the seriousness of a M.I.P. conviction.
A first offense is punishable by:
Up to two years probation
A fine of up to $250
Up to 360 hours of community service
30-Day license suspension
Substance abuse education or treatment
A second or subsequent offense is punishable more harshly by up to a 93-day jail sentence, a maximum of 60 days of community service, a $500 fine, and a 90-day license suspension.
Zero Tolerance for Underage Drinking
In addition to the crime of minor in possession, Michigan has a "zero tolerance" policy prohibiting minors from driving a vehicle with a bodily alcohol content of more than .02 and less than .08% or with any alcohol content not resulting from alcohol consumption as part of a generally recognized religious service or ceremony.
A zero-tolerance offense should not be taken lightly. A single conviction can be used to enhance future arrests for drunk or impaired driving to a second or third offense. A zero-tolerance conviction, like any other drunk driving offense, will also remain permanently on the individual's traffic and criminal record.
Contact Daniel J. Larin, P.C. today for a Birmingham underage DUI defense lawyer to protect you or your child when charged. We offer a free one-hour consultation to help.